Please click here for a PDF version of this years abstracts

Best of Posters Award

The AGITG Annual Scientific Meeting accepts abstracts for posters for selection by the Executive Organising Committee.  Posters are displayed in the Foyer Area of Hall D, outside the exhibition, as shown by the red poster boards in the image below (right hand side). Posters can be viewed for the duration of the conference, however the official poster viewing is during the Welcome Function, Wednesday 4th October, 6:30pm - 8:00pm.

Floor plan for website


Four posters are chosen for presentation in the Best of the Best Session. Each presenter has 7 minutes to present with 3 minutes for questions.

Prizes are awarded for Best of Posters and Runner Up, both sponsored by Ipsen.

Poster 1:
The potential of circulating tumor DNA (ctDNA) to guide adjuvant chemotherapy decision making in locally advanced rectal cancer (LARC)
Speaker: Dr Margaret Lee
Poster 2: Three distinct genomic landscapes define clinical outcome of pancreatic neuroendocrine tumours (pNETs)
Speaker: Dr Ben Lawrence
Poster 3: Exploring Consensus Molecular Subtypes (CMS) as predictors of benefit from bevacizumab in first line treatment of metastatic colorectal cancer: retrospective analysis of the MAX clinical trial
Speaker: Dr Jennifer Mooi
Poster 4: Fluoropyrimidine-associated myocardial toxicity is a global metabolic effect not vascular spasm and is visible on FDG PET scanning.
Speaker: Dr Andrew Dean

Four posters are also chosen for FastForward presentations where 3 minutes is allocated to each presentation and 2 minutes allocated for questions following each presentation.  It doesn’t get any faster than that!

Poster 1:
The Cancer Stem-Like Cell Marker SOX2 is Prognostic and May Predict Response to Chemotherapy in Colon Cancer
Speaker: Dr Melanie McCoy
Poster 2: Follow-up and recurrence in resected gastroenteropancreatic neuroendocrine tumours: A population-based study
Speaker: Prof Eva Segelov
Poster 3: Outcomes comparing right and left-sided metastatic colorectal cancer:  A multi-centre retrospective analysis in Queensland, Australia
Speaker: Dr Michael J Allen
Poster 4: An audit of the long term outcomes of Western Australian patients undergoing peritonectomy
Speaker: Dr David Ransom

 *Maximum poster size allowed is 100cm wide by 120cm high (portrait)

Best of Posters Award - 2016

The winner of the 2016 Best of Posters was Sharon Pattison of University of Otago for ‘Mismatch repair deficiency, inflammatory score and prognosis in gastric cancer’. The runner up was Melanie McCoy, St John of God Hospital Subiaco for ‘Immune biomarkers of response to chemoradiotherapy in locally advanced rectal cancer’.

The Best of Posters Award is proudly sponsored by Ipsen. The winner receives a $3,500 prize and certificate and runner up receives a $1,500 prize and certificate, both presented at the 18th AGITG Annual Scientific Meeting Dinner.

SetRatioSize190190 ipsen logo


18149 2428 resized
Dr Sharon Pattison is pictured receiving her award from AGITG Chair Professor Tim Price

18149 2432 resized
Dr Melanie McCoy is pictured receiving her award from AGITG Chair Professor Tim Price

Best of Posters Award - 2015

The Posters Session continued to grow in 2015. Dr Rebecca Tay from Eastern Health was awarded the Best of Posters for her poster entitled "Survival impact of adjuvant chemotherapy for resected early stage rectal adenocarcinoma". The AGITG is grateful for sponsorship from Ipsen for the Best of Posters.

posters website 300x210

Best of Posters Award - 2014

Congratulations go to the winners of the 2014 Posters Awards sponsored by Ipsen  

Dr Matthew Burge of Royal Brisbane Hospital won the Best Poster Award sponsored by Ipsen. Dr Burge’s poster was entitled: “A prospective, single institution study of the impact of Fluorodeoxyglucose (FDG) positron Emission Tomograpthy with concurrent non-contract CT scanning (PET/CT) on the management of operable Pancreatic, Ampullary or Distal Bile Duct cancer.” 



Dr David Chan of Royal North Shore Hospital was awarded runner up for his poster sponsored by Ipsen. Dr Chan’s poster was entitled: “The efficacy of EGFR inhibitors (I) in extended RAS wild-type and mutant settings in metastatic colorectal cancer (mCRC): A meta-analysis.”